The Dream of Gilgamesh: The First Recorded Dream

Standard

Carl Jung Depth Psychology



Gilgamesh got up and revealed the dream, saying to his mother: 


Mother, I had a dream last night.


Stars of the sky appeared, and some kind of meteorite of Anu fell next to me.


I tried to lift it but it was too mighty for me, I tried to turn it over but I could not budge it.


The Land of Uruk was standing around it, the whole land had assembled about it, the populace was thronging around it, the Men clustered about it, and kissed its feet as if it were a little baby.


I loved it and embraced it as a wife.


I laid it down at your feet, and you made it compete with me.


Commentary: Marie Louise Von Franz


This dream is about forty-six hundred years old. Still today we can find modern parallels for the language of the unconscious has changed much less than the…

View original post 283 more words

Leave a Reply

