Carl Jung’s Letter on Depression

Standard

Carl Jung Depth Psychology

Dear N.,

I am sorry you are so miserable.

“Depression'” means literally “being forced downwards.”

This can happen even when you don’t consciously have any feeling at all of being “on top”!

So I wouldn’t dismiss this hypothesis out of hand.

If I had to live in a foreign country, I would seek out one or two people who seemed amiable and would make myself useful to them, so that libido came to me from outside, even though in a somewhat primitive form, say of a dog wagging its tail.

I would turn in rage against myself and with the heat of my rage I would melt my lead.

I would renounce everything and engage in the lowest activities should my depression drive me to violence.

I would wrestle with the dark angel until he dislocated my hip.

For he is also the light and the blue sky which he…

View original post 54 more words

Leave a Reply

