Our Brothers’ Keepers, an Open Letter to My Fellow Creators

Standard

Being Southern Somewhere Else

To My Fellow Creators,

This year has been strange. At times, it has pranced and pirouetted along the edge of an abyss in which dwell insanity, rage, despair. I watched as, one by one, the world lost beautiful creative luminaries. I watched as my country cut off its nose to spite its face, and almost half of my fellow citizens voted for a narcissist who will destroy what I hold most dear about this political experiment of ours.

The world seems darker, now. That I cannot deny. We opened a Pandora’s Box this year, and let free all the twisted, shadowed wraiths that haunt our collective psyche–racism, misogyny, bigotry, xenophobia, anti-intellectualism, the myopic greed of consumption for its own sake and environmental rapine. These things are the dream cattle of famine, rising from the river, and they will consume all that is good and rich about us, culturally, scientifically, artistically.

View original post 485 more words

Leave a Reply

